facebook vk livejournal ETC Home Contact us ETC Sitemap
ETC: ecological tourism in Russia. To homepage.  
Rambler's Top100
Eng  |  Rus
 

Caucasus


This destination is definitely one of the most favorite for Russian travelers. And for good reason there are not so many places in the world where you can find such a magnificent combination of marvelous weather, breathtaking landscapes, unique vegetation, ancient monuments and mineral springs.
Caucasus is the name of the mountains located between the Caspian and Black Seas, as well as the territory lying within these mountains and their spurs. This name is found in the tragedy of Aeschylus Prometheus Bound (479 BC) for the first time. Though we still dont know the origin of the word for sure, researchers believe that it may be associated with the Hittite kaz-kaz this is the name of a people who lived on the southern coast of the Black Sea.
In the middle of the Caucasus is situated the mountain system the Greater Caucasus, it saxial zone contains the Main, or Water-parting (Vodorazdelny), and the Lateral ridges. Tourists do not always climb on the first try on the highest peaksMount Elbrus (5642 meters) and Mount Kazbek (5033 meters). Vorontsovskaya, Novoafonskaya caves, Sataplia karst caves and others are widely known.
The Caucasus is famous for its exceptional diversity ofl andscapes, which is explained by the complexity of its orographyand climatic contrasts. Furthermore, a specificity of the formation of different parts of the Caucasus under influence of neighboring territories which left their marks.
Flora and fauna are extremely rich in rare species, including endemics and relics.
The Western Caucasus regionis a UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site. Its value lies in the fact that it is one of the few large alpine mountain ranges in Europe where nature has not yet undergone significant anthropogenic influence: unique for Europe are vast untouched mountain forests, stretching from the low-mountain zone to the subalpine, plus on local alpine and subalpine meadows graze only wild animals.
There are six nature reserves and five national parks in the region of Caucasus, but even they can't cover all the natural and cultural outstanding sights of this territory. To really discover this place, you will have to come back here again and again: in summer and winter, spring and autumn...


Open big photo in new window
 

Open big photo in new window
 

Open big photo in new window

View all photos of the region


 
© Ecological Travel Center, 1998-2021
Rambler's Top100 @Mail.ru

facebook vk livejournal на главную написать письмо карта сайта
ЦЭП: экотуризм в России и зарубежом. На главную.  
Rambler's Top100
Рус  |  Eng
 

Кавказ


Этот регион – одно из самых любимых направлений российских путешественников. И не зря – где еще вы найдете такое сочетание прекрасной погоды, ландшафтов, от которых захватывает дух, уникальной растительности, древних памятников и минеральных источников.
Кавказ - это название гор, расположенных между Каспийским и Черным морями, а также страны, которую эти горы и их отроги заполняют. Впервые это название встречается в трагедии Эсхила «Скованный Прометей» (479 год до н.э.). Происхождение слова точно не установлено, исследователи считают, что, оно, возможно, связано с хеттским "каз-каз" – это название народа, жившего на южном берегу Чёрного моря.


Открыть увеличенное фото в новом окне
 

Открыть увеличенное фото в новом окне
 

Открыть увеличенное фото в новом окне

Все фотографии по региону


Центральное положение на Кавказе занимает горная система - Большой Кавказ, осевой зоне которого соответствуют Главный, или Водораздельный, и Боковой хребты. На высшие точки – гору Эльбрус (5642 метра) и гору Казбек (5033 метра) туристы далеко не всегда забираются с первой попытки. Широко известны Воронцовская, Новоафонская пещеры, Сатаплиа и другие.
Кавказ славится исключительным разнообразием ландшафтов, что объясняется сложностью его орографии и климатическими контрастами, а также особенностями истории формирования разных частей Кавказа и влиянием соседних территорий. Флора и фауна весьма богаты редкими видами, в том числе эндемиками и реликтами.

Район Западного Кавказа является объектом Всемирного природного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Его ценность заключается в том, что это один из немногих крупных высокогорных массивов в Европе, где природа еще не подверглась существенному антропогенному влиянию: обширные нетронутые горные леса, простирающиеся от низкогорной зоны до субальпики, уникальны для Европы, а на местных альпийских и субальпийских лугах пасутся только дикие животные.
На территории Кавказа организованы пять заповедников и три национальных парка, но даже они не могут охватить все природное и культурное разнообразие Кавказа. Чтобы действительно узнать Кавказ, нужно возвращаться сюда снова и снова: летом и зимой, весной и осенью…

 
Раработка сайта: Студия SiteNet
© Центр Экологических Путешествий, 1998-2017
Rambler's Top100 Рейтинг@Mail.ru