facebook vk livejournal ETC Home Contact us ETC Sitemap
ETC: ecological tourism in Russia. To homepage.  
Rambler's Top100
Eng  |  Rus
 

North-Osetia Reserve


Region: Caucasus 
Republic of North Osetia-Alania, Alagirsky District

History
The North Osetia Reserve was established on the territory of the Tseisky Reserve in 1967 mainly in order to preserve the natural landscape and facilitate study of the distinct natural systems of the northern slopes of the Central Caucasus. The parks total area is nearly 30,000 ha.

Geographical highlights
The reserve is located on the northern slopes of the eastern Central Caucasus, at altitudes of between 500 and 4500m. The Bokovoy Range, in which the majority of the park is situated, is characterised by very steep and rocky slopes, with cliffs, scree-fall and glaciers constituting more than 70% of the parks territory. The biggest glacier, Tseisky, has an area of nearly 10 sq.km.
The parks main river is the Ardon, but there are more than 100 rivers and large streams in total. Classed as a temperate continental climate, the coldest month is February with average temperatures in the Tseisky Gorge at an elevation of 1750m at -9ºC, and in June at +13ºC.

Flora and fauna
The park is rich in plant life, from broadleaf woodland, including beech, hornbeam, and maple, to mountain pine forests to slope-dwelling shrubbery. Around one third of the park is covered in forest, and the most common trees are eastern beech, Scots pine, white birch, and grey alder.
The reserve hosts a huge number of species endemic to the Caucasus, and many of them can be found only in Ossetia. These include species such as campanula zeyensis, the Caucasian bellflower; campanula kryophila, and campanula ardonensis, all of which grow on rocky cliffs.
Inhabitants of the broadleaf forests include the European pine marten, wildcat, wild boar, roe deer, red deer (which has been re-introduced to the region), and the European bison, which is now on the Red List of endangered species.
Higher altitudes are home to the stoat, beech marten, East Caucasian tur, and the chamois. Animals such as bears, lynxes, wolves, and foxes can be found at all elevations, from lowland forests to alpine meadows, cliffs and rockfalls.

What to see
North Osetias second largest cave system, Shubi-Nykhasskaya, is located in the park, and contains large halls and passages that are covered in stalactites and stalagmites. A rare species of bat that appears on Russias Red List can also be found in the cave.
There are plenty of fascinating historical landmarks to visit, such as the mesolithic site Shau-Lagat in the village of Dzivgis, the cave towns in Ursdon, Dzivgis, and Nuzal, and catacomb burial sites in the settlements of Arkhon and Kartsa.
Several interesting tourist routes have been created within the reserve, with lengths ranging from 3km to 10km. Youll see Skazky and Tseisky glaciers, a 12th century church, the Tseisky Gorge waterfall and other sights. On the wildlife spotting tour you can observe turs, peregrine falcons, and bearded vultures, as well as grouse mating rituals. Bears and lynxes are more rare.

 
© Ecological Travel Center, 1998-2021
Rambler's Top100 @Mail.ru

facebook vk livejournal на главную написать письмо карта сайта
ЦЭП: экотуризм в России и зарубежом. На главную.  
Rambler's Top100
Рус  |  Eng
 

Северо-Осетинский Заповедник


Регион: Кавказ 

Республика Северная Осетия-Алания, Алагирский район

История создания
На территории республиканского заказника «Цейский» в 1967 году был создан Северо-Осетинский заповедник, в первую очередь, для сохранения в естественном состоянии и изучения характерных природных комплексов северного макросклона Центрального Кавказа. Общая площадь заповедника составляет почти 30 тысяч га.

Физико-географические особенности
Территория заповедника расположена на северном склоне восточной части Центрального Кавказа, на высотах от 500 до 4500 тысяч метров. Рельеф Бокового хребта, на котором расположена основная территория заповедника, характеризуется, в основном, очень крутыми и скалистыми склонами. Вообще, скалы, осыпи и ледники занимают более 70% всей площади заповедника. Самым большим ледником площадью почти 10 км² является Цейский.
Главная река заповедника – Ардон, а всего здесь более ста рек и крупных ручьёв.
Климат умеренно-континентальный. Самый холодный месяц – февраль, а самый теплый июль. В Цейском ущелье на высоте 1750 метров средняя месячная температура февраля составляет -9°С, июля +13°С.

Разнообразие флоры и фауны
В заповеднике представлены природные сообщества от широколиственных лесов до скально-осыпной растительности. Лесами занята примерно третья часть территории заповедника. Здесь есть широколиственные буково-грабовые и кленовые леса, горные сосняки. Из деревьев наиболее обычны: бук восточный, сосна Коха, береза Литвинова, ольха серая.
Здесь растет огромное количество эндемиков, характерных только для Кавказа, а некоторые из них встречаются только в Осетии. Это, например, колокольчики цейский, холодолюбивый и ардонский, растущие на гранитных скалах.
В широколиственных лесах из животных наиболее характерны: лесная куница, лесная кошка, кабан, косуля, реакклиматизированные благородный олень и кавказско-беловежский зубр, занесенный в Красные книги различного ранга.
В высокогорной части заповедника обитают горностай, каменная куница, дагестанский тур, серна. А такие звери, как медведь, рысь, волк, лиса, встречаются во всех высотных поясах - от лесов предгорий, до высокогорных лугов, скал и каменных россыпей.

Что смотреть
На территории заповедника расположена вторая по величине в Северной Осетии карстовая пещера - Шуби-Ныхасская. Залы и коридоры пещеры покрыты причудливыми натеками, сталактитами и сталагмитами. В ней обитают ставшие повсеместно редкими занесенные в Красную книгу России летучие мыши.
В заповеднике будет интересно осмотреть такие исторические памятники, как мезолитическая стоянка Шау-лагат в селе Дзивгис, пещерные городки в селениях Урсдон, Дзивгис, Нузал, а также катакомбные могильники в селениях Архон и Карца.
В заповеднике разработаны очень интересные маршруты продолжительностью от трех до десяти дней, на которых вы увидете Сказский и Цейский ледники, церковь 12 века, водопад Цейского ущелья и другие достопримечательности. Выбрав тур по наблюдению за животными, вы сможете понаблюдать за жизнью туров, сапсана, бородоча-ягнятника, увидеть тетеревиный ток. Медведи и рыси попадаются на глаза не так часто.

По материалам oopt.info и zapoved.ru

 
Раработка сайта: Студия SiteNet
© Центр Экологических Путешествий, 1998-2017
Rambler's Top100 Рейтинг@Mail.ru