facebook vk livejournal ETC Home Contact us ETC Sitemap
ETC: ecological tourism in Russia. To homepage.  
Rambler's Top100
Eng  |  Rus
 

Kamchatka


Kamchatka and the Commander Islands to the north-east are considered among the most fascinating regions of Russia. Until recently, foreigners were prohibited from visiting the region. The region is part of the 'Pacific Ring of Fire'. It has 28 active and over 160 dormant volcanoes, as well as more than 200 mineral hot springs. In Kamchatka there is the unique opportunity to see one of the most beautiful volcanic landscapes in the world, and also visit hundreds of thermal springs. You will be amazed by the abundance of snowy peaks, waterfalls and vast lava fields. In the Kronotsky nature reserve you can visit the world renowned 'Valley of Geysers'.
Here there are more than 390 species of bird, around 800 plant species and 200 types of algae. The seas around Kamchatka and the Commander Islands boast over 400 species of fish.

Open big photo in new window
 

Open big photo in new window
 

Open big photo in new window

View all photos of the region



In Kamchatka, the mammal fauna consists of the Kamchatka sable, ermine, otter, Arctic hare, muskrat, fox, deer, elk, sheep, lynx, wolverine, Arctic wolf and the weasel. Out of the large predators in the forest zone of Kamchatka the most remarkable and well known of all species is the Kamchatka brown bear.
The Commander Islands are a priceless treasure trove of rare and endangered endemic species no longer found in other parts of the world. On the island's beaches there are numerous fur seal breeding grounds, where there are significant numbers of Steller sea lions and northern fur seals. Nearby are a huge amount of blue foxes, and in the intricate labyrinth of coastal cliffs shelters the world most valuable fur-animal, the otter.

There are vast nesting sites of sea birds on the islands, they are a stop over on the migration route of waders and anseriformes. There are many birds with colonies, including gulls, fulmars, puffins, cormorants and guillemots.

Because of the frequent strong winds and low summer temperatures the islands are without forests, even though they are located at the same altitude as, for example, Tula or Ufa. The majority of the territory is made up of various types of tundra and grassland. Overall, the Commander Islands are typified by a a strong variation of flora dependent on micro climate conditions, soil, sun exposure and angle of slope.

In Kamchatka there are two features of the vegetation. One is that it is giant: Kamchatka is the only place in Russia, and among a select few locations in the world, where grass grows up to 2.5m high. The other subtle feature is that although there are relatively few species of flora here, around 800, a huge amount of those, over 100, are endemic to Kamchatka and found nowhere else in the world.

 
© Ecological Travel Center, 1998-2017
Rambler's Top100 Рейтинг@Mail.ru

facebook vk livejournal на главную написать письмо карта сайта
ЦЭП: экотуризм в России и зарубежом. На главную.  
Rambler's Top100
Рус  |  Eng
 

Камчатка


Камчатка и расположенные на северо-востоке от нее Командорские острова считаются одними из самых интересных регионов России. Этот район, до недавнего времени закрытый для иностранцев. Регион является частью Тихоокеанского Огненного Кольца: он включает 28 активных и более 160 спящих вулканов, а также более 200 минеральных горячих источников. Камчатка предоставляет уникальный шанс увидеть один из красивейших вулканических ландшафтов на Земле, а также сотни термальных источников. Вы будете поражены изобилием снежных вершин, водопадов и обширных лавовых полей. В Кроноцком заповеднике Вы сможете посетить известную на весь мир Долину Гейзеров.

Здесь насчитывается более 390 видов птиц, около 800 видов растений, около 200 видов различных водорослей. В морях, омывающих Камчатку и Командоры насчитывается порядка 400 видов рыб.


Открыть увеличенное фото в новом окне
 

Открыть увеличенное фото в новом окне
 

Открыть увеличенное фото в новом окне

Все фотографии по региону


На Камчатке, фауну млекопитающих составляют: камчатский соболь, горностай, выдра, заяц-беляк, ондатра, лисица, лось, олень, снежный баран, рысь, полярный волк, росомаха, ласка. Из крупных хищных зверей лесной зоны Камчатки самым заметным и самым известным видом был и остается камчатский бурый медведь.

Командорские острова стали бесценной сокровищницей редких исчезающих и эндемичных зверей, не встречающихся больше нигде в мире. На островных пляжах размещаются обширные лежбища морских котиков, среди которых выделяются своим желто-бурым цветом сивучи. По соседству с ними обитает множество голубых песцов, а в сложных лабиринтах прибрежных скал укрываются самые ценные в мире пушные звери - каланы.

Острова - место массового гнездования морских птиц, остановки в период миграций ржанкообразных и гусеобразных птиц. Многочисленные пернатые образуют птичьи базары из чаек, глупышей, топорков, бакланов, кайр.

Из-за частых сильных ветров и низких летних температур острова безлесны, хотя и находятся на той же широте, что и, скажем, Тула или Уфа. Большую часть территории занимают различные виды тундр и травянистых сообществ. В целом для командорских сообществ характерна сильная мозаичность в зависимости от микроклиматических условий, грунта, экспозиции и наклона склона.

У растительности Камчатки есть две особенности. Первая - это гигантизм. Это единственное место в России (да и в мире таких мест немного), где травы вырастают до 2-2,5, а то и 4 м. Другая, скрытая, особенность камчатской флоры заключается в том, что здесь обитает сравнительно немного видов растений, всего чуть более 800. Но зато среди них очень много эндемичных, то есть встречающихся только здесь, на Камчатке, их насчитывается более 100.

 
© Центр Экологических Путешествий, 1998 - 2020
Rambler's Top100 Рейтинг@Mail.ru